

Prof. M. K. Rout Birth Centenary Celebration

Celebration of Birth Centenary Year starting from the 99th Birthday on 4th January 2023 and ending with 100th Birthday on 4th January 2024

SECOND MKRCC COMMITTEE MEETING PROCEEDINGS AND RESOLUTIONS

A meeting of the MKRCC Committee was held on 16 April 2023 (Sunday) at 11.00 AM in CLT1, Ravenshaw University, Cuttack. The meeting, presided over by Prof. P. K. Misra, Chairman of the MKRCC Committee, started with a prayer for the departed members of the chemistry fraternity. In his address, Prof. S. K. Nayak, honorable Vice Chancellor, Ravenshaw University, stated that there will be some renovation work in the department before the Centenary Celebration. The research culture is being restored in spite of the faculty crunch. It will be our collective effort to bring back the old glories of the Chemistry Department. There was discussion on free treatment in the campus hospital being relocated to the then residence of Prof. Rout, and writing for a postage stamp in the name of Prof. Rout. He also said that Dr. S. K. Bharadwaj, Head of the Department of Chemistry, is authorized for any activity pertaining to MKRCC, and expressed his desire that Dr. Bharadwaj be included in the MKRCC Working Committee in his place. He concluded his address with an appeal to all to come together, extend all support and cooperation, and celebrate the great occasion together.

RESOLUTIONS

- 1. The procedure may be moved with the Ravenshaw University administration to make available the Seven-Pillar Conference complex free of charge for the MKRCC celebration from 4th January 2024 to 6th January 2024.
- 2. For Guests in the inaugural meeting, in addition to the names already approved by the OCS (Prof. R. A. Mashelkar, former member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, and famously known for 'Mashelkar Committee', Professor Ganapati D. Yadav, President, Indian Chemical Society, and Prof. G. K. Choudhury, Vice Chancellor, Patna University), it is proposed to invite Prof. Achyutananda Samanta, Founder of KIIT and KISS, to the inaugural meeting.*
- 3. A letter will be sent to Prof. Yadav requesting him to add the digital copy of the Journal of Indian Chemical Society Special issue (December 1984 issue) brought out on Prof. M. K. Rout's 60th Birthday, which is missing on the Indian Chemical Society official website.
- 4. The Chairman and Secretary of MKRCC will decide on the speakers in the inaugural meeting.
- 5. The MKRCC Advisory Body names were read out. It was suggested that the Advisory Body should have members from different regions of the state. Prof. G. B. Behera proposed to add the following three names to the list (they have given their consent):
 - (a) Prof. M. C. Dash, Former Vice Chancellor, Sambalpur University and former Chairman, Odisha State Pollution Control Board.
 - (b) Prof M. S. Pati. Retd Prof, Sambalpur University and Atibadi Jagannath Das Awardee (highest literary award of Odisha)
 - (c) Sri Ras Behari Behera, ex-Minister, MP, Literatuer, Samajsebi, Kalahandi
- 6. A sub-committee comprising the following members is formed which will decide the manner and scope of felicitation/honor in the inaugural meeting:
 - (a) Prof. P. K. Misra, (b) Prof. P. B. Tripathy, (c) Prof. A. C. Das, (d) Dr. S. Lenka
- 7. There will be no lifetime achievement award in the MKRCC.

- 8. A Finance Committee comprising of (a) President and Secretary-cum-Treasurer, OCS and (b) Chairman and Secretary of MKRCC, and (c) Dr. Sarat Chandra Das is formed, who will take all decisions regarding the management of contributions received on MKRCC head of account.
- 9. A one-day seminar may be organized by the Chemistry Department, Ravenshaw University sometime in November, in which the research work of Prof. Rout in six different fields be presented by two M.Sc./Ph.D. students in each field, supervised by six teachers. There will be prize money (First prize: Rs 5000/-, Second prize: Rs 3000/-, Third prize: Rs 2000/-), which will be met by Prof. G. B. Behera.**

Post-meeting communication notes:

- * Prof. Asutosh Samantaray, Member of the MKRCC Working Committee, suggests that Prof. M. J. Kumar, Chairman, UGC, may be invited to the inaugural meeting as a guest.
- **Prof. G. B. Behera writes that subject to approval, the prize may be named after his deceased brother Sri Saroj Behera as the 'Saroj-Sunity Award', as Saroj Babu was a very dear loving student of Prof. Rout.

The following members attended the meeting:

