

ORISSA CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Regd. No. 18990/28-87/XXVII-22/87 of 1987 – 1988 Website: https://www.orchemsoc.in Email: info@ocs.org.in

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2023

PRESIDENT

Prof. Rupasree Ragini Das Phone: +91-7978813944 ocsindia.president@gmail.com rupasree.ragini@gmail.com

VICE PRESIDENTS

Prof. Smrutiprava Das Phone: +91-9437604667

Prof. Amaresh Mishra Phone: +91-9438044602

Prof. Bamakanta Garnaik Phone: +91-97771 07130

SECRETARY-CUM-TREASURER

Dr. Debasis Mohanty Phone: +91-9861391190 ocsindia.secretary@gmail.com maildebasismohanty@gmail.com

JOINT SECRETARIES

Smt. Sasmita Panda Phone: +91-9861926286

Dr. Bigyan Ranjan Jali Phone: +91-9937995381

MEMBERS

Prof. Rita Das Dr. Anita Pati Dr. Sridhar Sanyasi Dr. S. K. Bharadwaj Dr. Ajay K. Pradhan Prof. A. N. Acharya Prof. Priyaranjan Mohapatra Sri Pravat K. Swain Prof. Sarat K. Swain

Condolence Message



Prof. (Dr.) Prafulla Kumar Jena 27.12.1931 – 07.03. 2023

Prof. (Dr.) Prafulla Kumar Jena, Padma Shri Awardee, former Director of the Regional Research Laboratory (CSIR-IMMT), Bhubaneswar, Director General of CSIR, and former President of Ravenshaw Chemistry Alumni Association, passed away in his Bhubaneswar residence on the 7th March 2023 at the age of 91. He will be remembered as a distinguished scientist and a humble human being.

Prof. Jena was born on 27th December 1931, in Taliha, Jajpur. He completed his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Chemistry from Ravenshaw College and Ph.D. from Utkal University. He did M.S. in Metallurgical Engineering at the University of British Columbia, started his career as a metallurgist in BARC, Trombay, and later moved to BHU as a Professor of Metallurgical Engineering. Before serving as the Director of RRL, Bhubaneswar, he held the TATA Chair Distinguished Professor of Metallurgical Engineering at IIT, Kharagpur.

We, the Members of the Orissa Chemical Society, offer our deepest condolences to the bereaved family and pray to God for the noble soul to rest in peace.

Bhubaneswar 15th March 2023

(Rupasree Ragini Das) President, OCS For the Members of the Orissa Chemical Society