#### **CONFERENCE COMMITTEE**

# **Local Organizing Committee**

## **Chief Patron**

Prof. Umaballava Mohapatra

Vice-Chancellor,

Rajendra University, Balangir

#### **Patron**

Dr. Raj Kishore Patra

Chairman (PGC)

Rajendra University, Balangir

#### Convener

Dr. Satya Narayan Chaulia

Head, PG Department of Chemistry

## **Co-Convener**

Dr. Gajendra Kumar Pradhan

# **Organizing Secretary**

Dr. Archnamayee Behera

Dr. Arun Kumar Mishra

#### Treasurer

Dr. Manik Chandra Sil

Dr. Rajani Kanta Mahato

Mrs. Devankita Meher

# OCS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

## **President**

Prof. Ajaya Kumar Behera

# **Vice-President**

Dr. Bikash Kumar Jena

Prof. Amaresh Mishra

Prof. Pramod Kumar Satpathy

# Secretary-cum-Treasure

Prof. Achyutananda Acharaya

# **Joint Secretory**

Dr. (Mrs) Smruti Pattnaik

Dr. Bibhuti Bhusan Parida

#### ADVISORY COMMITTEE

# Dr. Pratap Kumar Dash

Chairman, HRDC, Rajendra University, Balangir

# Dr. Akshya Kumar Mishra

Head PG Department of Zoology, RU, Balangir

# Mr. Madan Mohan Pradhan

Head PG Department of Botany, RU, Balangir

# Dr. Jagajit Kamila

Head PG Department of Physics, RU, Balangir

## Mr. Debabrata Dansena

Head PG Department of Comp. Sc., RU, Balangir

# Dr. Yajneswar Sahoo

Asst. Prof. PG Department of Botany, RU, Balangir

# Mr. Biswajit Behera

Asst. Prof. PG Department of Botany, RU, Balangir

## Dr. Jitendra Kumar Pradhan

Asst. Prof. PG Department of Physics, RU, Balangir

# Dr. Narendra Kumar Rout

Asst. Prof. PG Department of Comp. Sc., RU, Balangir

## **INVITED SPEAKERS**

## Prof. B. K. Mishra

Former President of Orissa Chemical Society,

# Keynote Speaker

#### Prof. Amaresh Mishra

Professor, School of Chemistry,

Jyoti Vihar, Sambalpur

# Prof. Satyanarayan Sahu

Professor, School of Chemistry,

Jyoti Vihar, Sambalpur

# Dr. Saroj Kumar Sahoo

Scientist, DRDO, Pune

# **Prof. Hirak Chakraborty**

Jyoti Vihar,, Sambalpur

## Dr. Dibakar Sahoo

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physics

Jyoti Vihar, Sambalpur

# 6<sup>th</sup> OCS One-day Extended Lecture Series & National Seminar

or

Frontiers in Chemical Sciences (FCS-2024)

11th December (Wednesday), 2024







Organized by
PG Department of Chemistry
Rajendra University
Prajna Vihar, Balangir, Odisha

#### **ABOUT THE PROGRAMME**

This synergistic endeavour, jointly spearheaded by the Department of Chemistry, Rajendra University, Balangir, and the Orissa Chemical Society, endeavours to congregate luminaries from academia, research, and industry to engage in deliberations on pressing societal conundrums and explore the potential of nascent trends in chemical science to provide efficacious solutions. The paramount significance of this programme resides in its propensity to facilitate a cross-pollination of knowledge, provide exposure to cutting-edge scientific advancements, and foster innovative breakthroughs that can have a profound and far-reaching impact on the scientific community and society, ultimately contributing to a sustainable and environmentally conscious future. The forthcoming event is anticipated to be highly beneficial for student participants, research scholars, and professionals from across the nation, offering a unique opportunity for networking and knowledge acquisition.

#### ABOUT ORISSA CHEMICAL SOCIETY

The Orissa Chemical Society (OCS), founded in 1985 by Prof. Mahendra Kumar Rout, is a premier organization dedicated to advancing chemical sciences in Odisha. The society's objectives encompass:

- ☐ Augmenting pedagogical and research excellence in chemistry and allied sciences
- Fostering awareness about the environmental implications of chemicals
- ☐ Promoting chemistry through publications and outreach initiatives

With its motto "Excellence in Teaching and Research," OCS has emerged as a paradigmatic organization, catering to the needs of chemical scientists in interdisciplinary fields. The society welcomes all, ensuring equal opportunities for its members.

#### ABOUT BALANGIR

The Balangir district, situated in Odisha, boasts a rich historical heritage, having been part of the ancient Kalinga region. Strategically located, the district is flanked by the Gandhamardhan hills, facilitating trade and commerce. Historically, the region was ruled by various dynasties, including the Mahameghavahana, Somavamshi, and Chedi Kingdom. The Chedi Kingdom's legacy is particularly prominent, with the Hathigumpha inscription referencing King Kharavela's ancestry. Ancient texts, such as the Mahabharata and Padmapurana, also mention the region's significance. The district's storied past is a testament to its enduring cultural and historical significance, making it an important part of Odisha's heritage. The region's historical importance is undeniable, and its legacy continues inspire and fascinate to scholars and historians.

#### **ABOUT RAJENDRA UNIVERSITY**

Rajendra University, Balangir, has a rich history that dates back to 1944 when an Intermediate College was established by Maharaja Rajendra Narayan Singhdeo. The college was upgraded to a Degree College in 1946 and was granted autonomy in 2002. Due to its consistent efforts in promoting higher education, it was upgraded to a university in 2020. The university spans 200 acres and boasts a rich library, one of the oldest in Odisha. The library has been a hub of knowledge for teachers and students, who have been recognized worldwide in different domains of society. The university functions under the Higher Education Department of the Odisha government and has jurisdiction over colleges in Balangir and Subarnapur districts.

Prof. Dr. Uma Ballava Mohapatra, a renowned scholar and administrator, assumed office as the university's first Vice-Chancellor in 2021. Under his leadership, the university aims to promote knowledge, culture, and innovation. The university has been recognized as a hub of higher education in the region and is committed to providing quality education to its students. With its rich history, academic excellence, and commitment to innovation, Rajendra University is poised to become a leading institution of higher learning in Odisha

#### ABOUT DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

The Department of Chemistry, established in 1965-66, has undergone significant transformations over the past 55 years. The introduction of Chemistry Honours in 1970-71, a P.G. Programme in 1988-89, and M.Phil. Programme in 2017-18 has enabled the department to evolve into a centre of excellence. With a vision to impart quality education in chemistry, the department aims to generate, construe, and disseminate new knowledge in chemical sciences. The mission of the department encompasses providing application-based training to students and scholars, promoting literacy in chemistry, and developing awareness about health hazards and pollution. By fostering a culture of innovation and excellence, the department strives to contribute to the betterment of society and establish itself as a premier institution for chemical sciences education and research.

## Registration is free for all participants